ALDS Game 1: Trevor Bauer, Cleveland Indians baffle New York Yankees

Posted October 09, 2017

He lost to them, 8-1, in Cleveland on August 6. Tune in to watch Game 3 of the ALDS on Sunday at 7:30 p.m. ET on FS1. "We never feel like we're out of a game". Jackson drew a leadoff walk from Dellin Betances and stole second to get into scoring position. So, if it's not something. there was nothing that said he was not hit. "No words, honestly. I'm speechless". Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez caught the pitch that was ruled to have hit Chisenhall, so it should have been ruled strike three, which would have ended the inning.

Masahiro Tanaka makes his second postseason start for NY - he lost a 3-0 AL wild-card game to Houston in 2015.

If the Indians win: They move on to the ALCS for the second straight year and sixth time in franchise history.

Encarnacion sprained his ankle in gruesome-looking fashion in the Indians' thrilling 9-8 win over the New York Yankees on Friday.

It was the Indians' first three-game sweep of the Yankees in NY since 1989, and kept alive a winning streak that extended to a franchise-best and American League-record 22 games. They will take longer in replay. The Yankees were intrigued by the right fielder and the possibility of bringing another big bat to the Baby Bombers while they continued on an unexpected run toward the postseason. New York's CC Sabathia allowed four runs - two earned - 5 1/3 innings.

Bauer, who was a surprise choice by Indians manager Terry Francona to start Game 1 ahead of ace Corey Kluber, threw 98 pitches, striking out eight with one walk.

Girardi opted not to challenge the play and later cited the effect it could have had on Green's rhythm, according to ESPN.com's Andrew Marchand.

"There was nothing that told us he was not hit on the pitch", Girardi said after the game.

NY catcher Gary Sanchez said he heard something, but wasn't sure what.

But while egregious, Girardi's replay mistake gets the silver in Friday night's manager mess-ups. Before he left the batter's box, Lindor gave his shot some help. "You worry about wasting the challenge, I understand that, but you don't know what's going to happen in the next two and 2/3 innings, you don't". As soon as it went out, it was just a lot of emotions.

The play happened during the bottom of the sixth inning with NY leading 8-3, when home plate umpire Dan Iassogna ruled Yankees reliever Chad Green hit the Indians' Lonnie Chisenhall with a pitch.

Jay Bruce then tied the game in the eighth with a solo home run off of David Robertson.

Being up two games does not mean Carrasco thinks the Indians have a cushion.

For all the talk about Aaron Judge, who is now 0 for 7 with five strikeouts in two games, justice has been served.

Kluber wasn't himself. Not even close.

"I take responsibility for everything", he said.

However, it was called by the plate umpire as a hit-by-pitch and they are reviewable. As Encarnacion scrambled back toward second base, his right foot struck the bag causing him to roll his right ankle.